Text Box: GRADUATED LICENSING LAWS FOR NEW DRIVERS
Effective October 1, 2006. 
— The Graduated Licensing Program affects license 
holders under the age of 18. The
Graduated Licensing Program requires the following:

PERMIT PHASE

• Driver must be 16 years old to apply for permit.
• Parent/Guardian must sign application for permit.
• Drivers must have 180-day instruction period after receiving permit.
• Permit holder must drive with a licensed driver 21 years old or older.
• Permit holder under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6:00 a.m. unless the person can demonstrate good cause for driving.
• Parent/Guardian must certify 60 hours practice driving (10 hours must be at night) before road (skills) test can be administered.
• Documentation forms for this requirement are found in the back of this manual. This documentation is required before the skills test.
• Passenger restriction – limited to 1 (one) unrelated person under 20 years of age.
• Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited.
• A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than six points may have their driving privilege suspended.
• No serious moving violations are allowed for those under 18 during the permit phase. If violation(s) occur, the applicant’s 180 day waiting period begins again from the date of the violation.

INTERMEDIATE PHASE

• Must pass driving skills test after 180-day permit period.
• Kentucky State Police License Examiner will place the intermediate sticker onto the permit when applicant passes the skills test.
• Intermediate driver under the age of 18 may not drive between midnight and 6:00 a.m. unless the person can demonstrate good cause for driving.
• Passenger restriction – limited to 1 (one) unrelated person under 20 years of age.
• Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited.
A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than six points may have their driving privilege suspended.

INTERMEDIATE PHASE CONTINUED

No serious moving violations are allowed for intermediate drivers under 18. If violations occur, the applicant’s 180 day waiting period for license issuance begins again from the date of the violation.

ALL INTERMEDIATE DRIVERS MUST COMPLETE A 4-HOUR SAFETY CLASS BEFORE GETTING A FULL LICENSE. THE GOAL OF THE 4-HOUR CLASS IS TO ENSURE A MINIMUM LEVEL OF KNOWLEDGE ABOUT DRIVER LICENSE LAWS AND TO REINFORCE SAFE DRIVING HABITS.

Intermediate drivers who take a high school Driver Education Course or a course from an approved private driving school will not be required to take the 4-hour class offered by the Transportation Cabinet.

• Driver’s License will be issued upon meeting all qualifications from permit and intermediate phases.
All drivers under the age of 21 are subject to “Zero Alcohol Tolerance.”


The seat belt law is now a primary law in Kentucky. You may be stopped and given a ticket by a law enforcement officer if you are observed not wearing your seat belt.

BUCKLE UP! IT’S THE LAW!

About Driving School

Beginning Driver Course

Employment

Opportunities

3715 Bardstown Road, Suite 410
Louisville, Kentucky 40218

(502) 456-5266 or 451-7230

543 N Wilson Rd # C

Radcliff, KY 40160

(270) 351-5102

Kentucky Driving School

(502) 456-5266

Copyright © 2016 Kentucky Driving School. All Rights Reserved.

Site Meter

K.D.S. Office Hours

 

Monday—Friday 9am—6pm

Saturday 9 am—3 pm

 

Thank you for choosing K.D.S.